49ers up against 2013 cap

49ers up against 2013 cap
December 22, 2012, 9:00 am
Share This Post

If the 49ers trade Alex Smith by April 1, they would clear $9.75 million from their 2013 salary cap. (USA TODAY IMAGES)

The NFL Players Association is expecting the smallest increase in the history of the league's salary cap, according to a report Saturday.

The NFLPA is planning for the 2013 cap to be $121 million per team, reports Jason Cole of Yahoo! Sports. That would be an increase of $400,000 over this year's limit.

Currently, the 49ers have 45 players under contract for next season at a cap cost of $120.98 million.

One of those players is backup quarterback Alex Smith, who currently accounts for $9.75 million of the team's 2013 figure. If Smith is still on the roster on April 1, 2013, his entire $7.5 million base salary becomes fully guaranteed.

If the 49ers release Smith, they would owe him $1 million. If they were able to trade Smith, his entire salary would be cleared off the 49ers' books.

Smith signed a three-year contract in the offseason that included no signing bonus. He received $8 million in guarantees this season, combining his salary and roster bonus. In the second year, he received a $1 million guarantee.

The 49ers' most notable players who are not under contract for next season are safety Dashon Goldson, tight end Delanie Walker, receivers Randy Moss and Ted Ginn, and defensive linemen Isaac Sopoaga and Ricky Jean Francois.

49ers 2013 salary cap
David Akers $3,616,668
Eric Bakhtiari $555,000
Alex Boone $1,940,000
NaVorro Bowman $3,105,562
Ahmad Brooks $6,650,000
Tarell Brown $1,907,314
Garrett Celek $482,000
Perrish Cox $555,000
Michael Crabtree $5,770,439
Chris Culliver $704,719
Anthony Davis $3,566,666
Vernon Davis $8,739,916
Anthony Dixon $605,150
Demarcus Dobbs $559,168
Darius Fleming $521,200
Jonathan Goodwin $5,016,668
Frank Gore $6,450,000
Jewel Hampton $481,666
Parys Haralson $2,870,000
Kendall Hunter $664,805
Mike Iupati $2,629,500
LaMichael James $754,295
A.J. Jenkins $1,578,984
Brian Jennings $1,161,000
Colin Kaepernick $1,397,535
Daniel Kilgore $595,075
Andy Lee $4,050,000
Joe Looney $586,301
Mario Manningham $4,887,500
Ray McDonald $2,561,985
Bruce Miller $570,612
Trenton Robinson $507,625
Carlos Rogers $7,344,531
Aldon Smith $3,922,909
Alex Smith $9,750,000
Justin Smith $8,000,000
C.J. Spillman $1,558,333
Joe Staley $2,800,000
Scott Tolzien $555,000
Will Tukuafu $555,000
Donte Whitner $4,833,334
Michael Wilhoite $480,000
Ian Williams $555,000
Kyle Williams $594,839
Patrick Willis $3,605,125

49ers unsigned for 2013
Dashon Goldson
Delanie Walker
Isaac Sopoaga
Ricky Jean Francois
Randy Moss
Larry Grant
Tramaine Brock
Leonard Davis
Ted Ginn
Clark Haggans
Tavares Gooden
Darcel McBath