DeBartolo named as Hall of Fame finalist

DeBartolo named as Hall of Fame finalist
January 11, 2013, 7:00 am
Share This Post

The final vote for the 2013 Hall of Fame class will take place Saturday, Feb. 2 in New Orleans. (USA TODAY IMAGES)


Sun, Sep 25
San Francisco0301518
Preview | Box | Gameview | Recap
LeaderSan FranciscoSeattle
PassingB. Gabbert 119R. Wilson 243
RushingC. Hyde 103C. Michael 106
ReceivingT. Smith 35D. Baldwin 164
Copyright © 2016 by STATS LLC.
All rights reserved.

Former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo was named Friday morning among the 17 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

DeBartolo was in charge of the 49ers for 23 years, during which time the organization won all of its five Super Bowls, made 16 playoff appearances, won 13 division titles and had 16 consecutive seasons of 10 wins or more.

This is the second year in a row that DeBartolo has been named as a finalist for the Hall of Fame.

Guard Larry Allen, who finished his 14-year career with the 49ers, made the list of finalists in his first year of eligibility. Allen, best known for his 12 seasons with the Dallas Cowboys, played in 2006 and '07 with the 49ers. He was chosen to the Pro Bowl in 2006. Allen attended Butte College (Oroville) and Sonoma State.

[RELATED: Ray Ratto -- Eddie DeBartolo's confounding HOF case

Pass-rusher Charles Haley, who began and ended his career with the 49ers, is also a finalist. This is his fourth time as a Hall of Fame finalist. Haley was on five Super Bowl-winning teams. He won Super Bowls with the 49ers after the 1988 and '89 seasons. He was traded to the Cowboys, and was a key player on three more Super Bowl-winning teams.

Kevin Greene, a defensive end/outside linebacker, ended his career with the 49ers in 1997. This is his second year as a finalist.

The final vote for the 2013 Hall of Fame class will take place Saturday, Feb. 2 in New Orleans.

There is no set number for any class of enshrinees, but the Hall of Fame's rules stipulate that four to seven new members will be selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year and a class of six or seven can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees are elected. Curley Culp and Dave Robinson are the senior nominees.

Former 49ers running back Roger Craig, a finalist in 2010, has not made it that far in the three years since.

2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame Finalists
Larry Allen, guard, 1994-2005 Dallas Cowboys, 2006-07 San Francisco 49ers
Jerome Bettis, running back, 1993-95 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 1996-2005 Pittsburgh Steelers
Tim Brown, wide recever/returner, 1988-2003 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders, 2004 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Cris Carter, wide receiver, 1987-89 Philadelphia Eagles, 1990-2001 Minnesota Vikings, 2002 Miami Dolphins
Curley Culp, defensive tackle, 1968-1974 Kansas City Chiefs, 1974-1980 Houston Oilers, 1980-81 Detroit Lions
Edward J. DeBartolo Jr., owner, 1977-2000 San Francisco 49ers
Kevin Greene, linebacker/defensive, 1985-1992 Los Angeles Rams, 1993-95 Pittsburgh Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Carolina Panthers, 1997 San Francisco 49ers
Charles Haley, defensive end/linebacker, 1986-1991, 1999 San Francisco 49ers, 1992-96 Dallas Cowboys
Art Modell, owner, 1961-1995 Cleveland Browns, 1996-2011 Baltimore Ravens
Jonathan Ogden, tackle, 1996-2007 Baltimore Ravens
Bill Parcells, coach, 1983-1990 New York Giants, 1993-1996 New England Patriots, 1997-99 New York Jets, 2003-06 Dallas Cowboys
Andre Reed, wide receiver, 1985-1999 Buffalo Bills, 2000 Washington Redskins
Dave Robinson, linebacker, 1963-1972 Green Bay Packers, 1973-74 Washington Redskins
Warren Sapp, defensive tackle, 1995-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Oakland Raiders
Will Shields, guard, 1993-2006 Kansas City Chiefs
Michael Strahan, defensive end, 1993-2007 New York Giants
Aeneas Williams, cornerback/safety, 1991-2000 Phoenix/Arizona Cardinals, 2001-04 St. Louis Rams